Americans with Disabilities Act Board

  • 4:00 pm
  • Meets the second Tuesday of January and July
  • Conference room, McAlester Public Library 401 N 2nd St.
    McAlester, OK 74501

The board shall consist of seven members who shall be residents of the community, appointed by the mayor, and confirmed by the City Council to serve staggered terms provided the terms of the initial board members shall be as follows: 
  • Three members shall be appointed for a one-year term
  • Four members shall be appointed for a two-year term
Current Members:
Ruth Harkins
LaDell Emmons
Mike Ward, Vice Chair
Ted Welch
Pam Pulchny
Eric Wisor, City of McAlester ADA Compliance Corodinator

The members of the board shall be selected without regard to political affiliation and shall serve without compensation. Persons with disabilities or persons working with persons with disabilities will be encouraged to join the board to provide a balance perspective to decision making concerning these issues.

The purpose of the board shall be to act as ombudsmen for people with disabilities and to advise that all municipal programs and policies are ADA compliant. The board was established by council June 26, 2007, Ord. No. 2260.