Library Advisory Board

  • 4:00 pm (except in July, which is at 11:30 am)
  • Meets the fourth Thursday in January, March, May, July, September, and November
  • Conference room, McAlester Public Library 401 N 2nd St.
    McAlester, OK 74501
  • July at McAlester Country Club
    1500 Country Club Rd.
    McAlester, OK 74502
  • See the Current Meeting Schedule

The Library Board is composed of seven members, at least two of whom must be women, and are appointed by the mayor with approval of the City Council. Members of the board are appointed for overlapping five-year terms with one term expiring each December 31. The members serve without compensation.

The board elects a chairman and vice-chairman from its own membership, and a secretary who need not be a member of the board. The Library Board acts in an administrative capacity and is responsible to the City Council.

The Library Board shall supervise and control the public libraries of the City, shall appoint, and may remove the librarian and all other personnel of the department. The board shall adopt regulations for the administration and operation of the libraries.

The board was established by council September 25, 1967, Ord. No. 1223, and Ord. No. 2024.

Current Regular Meeting Schedule
January 23, 2020
March 26, 2020
May 28, 2020
July 23, 2020
September 24, 2020
November 19, 2020