Nonuniformed Council

  • Meets as needed. Meeting times will be posted.
  • Council Chambers, Municipal Building
  • 28 E. Washington, McAlester, OK 74502
  • Minutes and important documents available
2021 Regular Meeting Dates:

January 13, 2021
January 27, 2021
February 10, 2021
February 24, 2021
March 10, 2021
March 24, 2021
April 14, 2021
April 28, 2021
May 12, 2021
May 26, 2021
June 9, 2021
June 23, 2021
July 14, 2021
July 28, 2021
August 11, 2021
August 25, 2021
September 8, 2021
September 22, 2021
October 13, 2021
October 27, 2021
November 10, 2021
November 24, 2021
December 8, 2021
December 22, 2021

The council shall be composed of classified service personnel who shall be elected by their respective employee divisions as defined below:
  • No supervisory or unclassified personnel, or uniformed employee recognized by a local bargaining agent, shall be a council member
  • There shall be two representatives from each of the follow employee divisions as so stated herein on the council:
    • Two representatives from Administration
    • Two representatives from Public Works Division
    • Two representatives from Engineering Division
    • One representative elected from all eligible employees who shall serve as the representative from the City-at-large
      • Said representative from the City-at-large shall also serve as chairman of the council
      • Said position shall be a two-year term with no rights for succession
  • Council members shall be elected by a vote of the employees as follows:
    • Each classified service employee will be allowed to vote for two candidates from his employee division or classification and for one candidate from the City-at-large
    • The two candidates with the highest number of votes from each employee division or classification and the City-at-large shall be deemed elected as the representative
    • Ties shall be broken by the candidates drawing lots before the city clerk [page: City Clerk] and witnesses
    • No council member shall be allowed to succeed himself for more than one additional two-year term.
Current Members:
Robbie Patton, Chair
LaDana DeTello
Sherry Swing
David Weeks
Sheila Maldonado

The council is charged with promoting a high degree of understanding, cooperation, efficiency, unity, and morale for city employees. The council provides a mechanism, through recommendations to the city manager, whereby all employees may contribute to the development and / or improvement of work conditions, and all other personnel-related matters directly affecting the employees. The council also promotes the public good by providing a harmonious working relationship between the City Council, city administration, city employees and the general public.

The council was established by the City Council in 1974 code.